You’re the butter to my bread

You are the butter to my bread

 

I have never told you all my secrets

We are so different in the way we talk and feel

You’re the butter to my bread, still

I love you naturally just like the way I breathe

 

I don’t remember clearly the first time we met

But I’m pretty sure I cried a lot that day

If I hadn’t been busy crying, I would probably say:

“Well, hello there, it’s so nice meeting you like this!”

 

We spent time together and there was a man we both fell in love with

Surprisingly we still managed to get along perfectly well

I was a lazy cat as usual, so while you worked, I played

You didn’t even complain, that’s why I love you, I guess

 

You know fried chicken is my favorite

I know you love flowers, especially rose

I learn with time that arguing with you is a definite no-no

Just like you figure out I drink hot milk whenever I’m upset

I love all your early morning footsteps

I love all your boring stories you just keep telling

I love your criticism over our man to clumsily hide how much you love him

I love your wearing glasses and sewing my torn clothes …

 

Though I have never told you all my secrets

Plus, we are so different in the way we talk and feel

Mummy, you’re the butter to my bread, still

I love you naturally just like the way I breathe …

 

-T.H-

Leave a Reply

