Women around me …

I have quite a weird feeling these days, especially when I’m on my way to work, you know, swimming among a chaotic sea of people around, all of whom are trying to go ahead by jostling against the others. I couldn’t help but notice that there are quite a lot of women in the crowd, on their way to work, of course, yet with a child or 2 behind them and a package of food hanging on the handle of their motorbike. I bet they pretty much have to do those errands every single day for 10 years or even more. How could they get by without being fed up or without getting mad at all the pressures they have to endure? As a woman, I haven’t got a family around my neck; however, I feel like I’m always up to the eyeballs with my work, my relationship and my other petit worries of all sorts. On top of which, I always feel lost and wasted, you know, just bothering about me and myself only. Looking at other women around me, some of whom are very close such as my mom, my aunts, my cousins, etc., I can’t help but wonder what’s wrong with me or what’s wrong with all of them? Do they just compromise to walk the same path as their moms or do they fight for what they come to realize as true happiness?

Leave a Reply

