The real tough bitch and the weird guy I used to know

I had lunch with my colleagues at a nice restaurant run by former Masterchef contestants today, and our conversation somehow swirled around M.N – the Masterchef who owns a famous bread branch with a rumor-has-it revenue of about 40 billion VN for the year 2014. I told my friends what I heard about M.N, that she was a real tough bitch back in college. My roommate was in the same class with M.N, and she couldn’t shut up about her, about how she showed off her crankiness without any slightest intention to ease it out and how she stood out in class, arrogantly like a peacock. I graduated with a vague idea of what I am going to do with my life and not many names and faces in my memory, but I’m quite sure that M.N was there, among those names and faces, labelling: a real tough bitch. Little did I know that only 2 years later, she would be once again in the spotlight, only on a bigger stage this time. I was in the middle of my stories when all out of my expectation, one of my colleagues told me: “That’s why she’s there, and you are, well, here.” I shut up immediately ‘cause it really hit me with the god damn truth.

A few weeks ago, a college friend of mine shared a picture of a young successful entrepreneur on our facebook group, and like everybody else in my class I remember him well. He’s the weird guy I used to know, back in military camp. He used to have a crush on one of my roommates, and even stole somewhere a lousy rose to come to my dorm room asking her out. In front of us mischievous young girls who really intentionally humiliated him with our sour tongues and blunt mouths! I remember laughing so hard at him, a weirdo with sluggish style and flabby hair.

It dawned on me. The real tough bitch and the weird guy I used to laugh at both possess some qualities I used to neglect. I used to think that they only showed off themselves back then, with the mere excitement of being recognized and being admired that every single teenager experiences during the most troublesome years of their life. Little did I see beyond the surface, to realize the sparkles of potentials from these kids. On retrospect, it’s so brave to be a real tough bitch and to be a weird guy. While I tried to hide my personalities in order to blend in, to be accepted, and to secure a place among birds of feather, they courageously stepped out, taking full responsibility for their actions, being true to who they are, and asking honestly for what they want. Outrageous fellows might not be warmly received at first, yet if they are willing to put hard work to what they believe in, you will see a swan growing out from the ugly duckling you used to know.

 

Leave a Reply

