Practicing simplicity

A line from “Bridge of spies” really struck me: “Would it help?”

Particularly, it goes like:

James Donovan: I have a mandate to serve you. Nobody else does. Quite frankly, everybody else has an interest in sending you to the electric chair.

Rudolf Abel: All right…

James Donovan: You don’t seem alarmed.

Rudolf Abel: Would it help?

Since then, I ask myself that question whenever I’m about to make a fuss. It really helps.

Something like:

OMG. I’m having a total new class tonight. I’m not sure they’re gonna like me. What if they are not interested in studying? What if their levels vary so much? What if … blah blah blah

Would it help? Shut up, keep calm and prepare the lesson plan. That helps.

OMG. I love this dress so much. Though it doesn’t go really well with many items in my wardrobe, I think it would make me look fancy on special occasions such as my friend’s wedding next week. Plus, it’s 50% off.

Would it help? No, of course it wouldn’t. It does not help your capsule wardrobe, at all.

OMG. My friends all seem to go on so well with their life. I mean they travel, they study abroad, they get promoted, they get married to awesome people, they have amazing kids. I’m in the middle of nowhere.

Would it help? You’re juggling your 2 jobs, your study and your relationships. You should focus on your life. That helps.

worry-would-it-help.jpg

Leave a Reply

